Why my work sucks for new dads

My wife’s work is full of ladies, more specifically moms. Besides the obvious benefit of getting lots of delicious baked goods brought into work they also are always willing to talk about babies, pregnancy, and the like. She also has a few co-workers that are also pregnant and they can all commiserate together. In my office at work I’m lucky if I hear a peep about kids or babies. If someone does happen to ask me a question it is usually “How is your wife doing?”Ugh, you know I am going through my own stuff too! I mean, I know she is the one dealing with the most changes right now, but just because I happen to have a Y chromosome doesn’t mean I wouldn’t like to be engaged in a little bit of water cooler banter about becoming a dad. Unfortunately the people in my office, even if they are dads, don’t seem inclined to share their thoughts or feelings on the subject. SHE IS SO LUCKY!

I do have one friend here who had his first son almost a year ago. His little boy is super adorable and his wife is also pregnant with their second (another boy)! Their due date is about a month behind my wife and I which is also really cool. He’s the only one at work that I can chat with about cloth diapers, boppy pillows, and gliders. I try to hold back releasing this huge flood of soontobe dad geekery on him because I I fear losing my only workplace confidant. Last week he and I were discussing the benefits of bumbo seats and my one female co-worker goes “You guys and all your gushy baby family talk. Ugh!” Talk about crushing the mood. Thank God for the internet and the chance it gives me to voice all my overly excited squees regarding premium muslin cotton crib sheets, natural wool lanolin treated diaper covers, and 100% BPA free breast flow bottles. Seriously, if I weren’t as technologically inclined I would be left thinking that I was one weird dude that is getting way to invested in his not even born yet kid. Thank you fellow dad bloggers for all your posts, tweets, and instgrams about your kids!

Don’t even get me started on the weird looks I get at Target when I coo over strangers babies… Hey, at least I resisted picking them up and it isn’t like I’m breaking into their houses to breast er I mean bottle feed them.

2 responses to “Why my work sucks for new dads

  1. Stephen Abbott

    Welcome to one of the the awkward realities of a modern dad. In the workplace, men haven’t traditionally talked about the upcoming baby, and the outdated man-cliche also reminds people that men are not open to unsolicited advice or guidance. These two facts combine into modern dads bursting with questions and feelings unique to men—but no more silly or foreign than those of our spouse—yet few outlets to share.

    Your excitement is to be commended, and don’t let your peer circles diminish your enthusiasm for being a great dad. This is an incredible journey you’ve started, full of tests and rewards unlike any other. The first test is one you’ve passed with flying colours—it’s pretty obvious you care enough to explore being a dad, not just run through the motions and give in to the cliches.

    In my experience, you’ll find some people who are able to talk “dad” with you (men and women) with genuine respect for your emotions and perspective. It’s just not as obvious or organized as our partner’s opportunities.

Leave a note

